Conclusions and Assumptions

I've just noticed something that happens a lot in my own life that I'm sure occurs in other people's lives as well, so I thought it would be interesting to share. Whenever I spend a lot of time around someone, say a family member I live with, a coworker, a friend, etc, but I don't actually interact with them much, my mind begins to wander a bit too much. I start coming to conclusions and making assumptions that ultimately end up being entirely false, all because I sit there thinking these crazy things to myself rather than simply talking to the person and getting their input. Just as a little example, I don't talk to my mom that much, despite me living with her, so some of the things she does or says I often take as subconscious acts of aggression or just generally being annoyed with me, and then when I finally do interact with her, I realize I was completely wrong and that I was just overthinking the entire time. I've noticed that lots of other people that I know do the same thing, but I don't think they've realized it, or if they have, they haven't put it into words, so maybe by my writing this down more people will be able to realize this behavior and catch themselves before they start worrying about nothing. Or maybe nobody will read it, who knows :3

Posted on March 12, 2023