October 16th, 2023

Man I wish I could just work 24/7. I really wouldn't mind it all that much since it's pretty much all I've got going for me now. No matter what projects I take on, no matter how hard I try to pull myself out of poverty or gain any amount of success at all, everything fails, nothing works out, and I ultimately end up in the exact same spot over and over again. I would zipline for the rest of my life if it paid well enough. I've been doing some thinking on the economics of my job lately, and though I haven't reached any concrete conclusions yet, I do believe that I should be paid more. In basic economics, an employee is paid for the amount of value they contribute to the company. The way our ziplining business works, if just one person were to go ziplining, that's an instant $40 of revenue at LEAST. There are more expensive trips they can take, but I chose to go with the cheapest for the sake of the hypothetical. Per trip, I get paid $20. If there's only one person on the trip, we need at least two guides to run the trip, meaning that single trip makes $0 in profit. Of course we have much bigger trips than that, but it helps isolate certain parts of the business to get a better understanding of what's really going on behind the scenes. Let's say we have an average of five people per trip, which is 25 people per day. That's at least $1,000 in revenue for just that day. Assuming that all five trips were one package rather than multiple packages combined, that would require only two guides per trip, meaning that at the VERY least, operating under the assumption that zipline brings in $1,000 of revenue per day and only requires two workers at once, that leaves the overall business with $800 after paying its workers. Now of course I'm not a manager, and I have no insight into the inner workings of the business, but I believe that $800 in profits, when scaling the hypothetical up to a more realistic amount, should be plenty enough to give guides, say, a $1-$2 raise.

If you read all that and didn't understand any of it, sorry :P I was really just thinking with my keyboard, and I don't feel like going back and proofreading and rewriting and all that.